The Stages of Love

A nomination! How delightful.

A nomination to write about love? Hmm..

Here are the rules:

The Rule is to write ten sentences about what is love according to you and each sentence should be composed of four words. Then sum it up with your favorite love quote.

So here’s the ten sentences, in a free verse poem form.


The stages of love,

begins with a crush,

playful, innocent, harmless. But

longing evolves into need,

anything less becomes torturous.

Could it be better?

To never love again?

No. Love is essential,

reason to live- experience

the stages of love

-Myself


Well, I tried! I’m not sure if it meets the requirements of The Rulebut I like it better this way.

Thank you to Nimmi, for the nomination. I’m the type who would not venture outside my comfort zone, so I greatly appreciate this opportunity.


And now for the favorite love quote.. Not one for memorising love quotes, I picked the first one off the top of my head.

“The boy never cried again, and he never forgot what he’d learned: that to love is to destroy, and that to be loved is to be the one destroyed.”

-Jace Wayland (The City of Bones, Mortal Instruments)

Not the most optimistic of quotes, but there is truth in it. I’m quite a pessimistic person anyway.

Yours truly,

mr pessimist.

PS: I still believe in love though. I really do.


The Stages of Love

3 thoughts on “The Stages of Love

  1. Lovely, Fred!!
    I loved the way you penned about Love, somewhere I felt the same and the love quote Ah!! Really touched my heart…
    Thank you dear for participating 🙂
    PS: A big hug coming your way, my dear 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave A Reply

