Being in Love with a Friend

Since we met,
my cell would ring, and
it would always be you.

You may not know.
She will never know,
but I love her.
It has been that way for some time.

I wish I could tell you
the words I yearn to say
Let’s not be friends, let’s be more.

I could never find the words to admit my feelings true.
So I keep them suppressed. We are great as friends.
We could be greater, I thought.
Does she think the same?

If women are as complicated as they say,
then your words would mean that you like me too.
And I repeated them back to you
And locked us in as ‘just friends’.

I am complicated
I don’t mean what I say
Because I mean what I never said:
“Let’s not be friends, let’s be more.”

Being in Love with a Friend

Leave A Reply

