A Very Watery Date

(C) Sonya O. Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (FFFAW), June 10, 2015. This photo brings you to the challenge page. Hosted by Priceless Joy
(C) Sonya O. Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers (FFFAW), June 10, 2015. This photo brings you to the challenge page. Hosted by Priceless Joy

The Sea World would be an excellent venue for their first date, he thought. He has never been so wrong.

The instant that she realized that his plan was a visit to Sea World, she burst into tears. She did not tell him why though. She did not want to ruin the date; he booked the tickets in advance too. They did not come cheap.

But the tears invariably came again as they passed by the Angelfish aquariums.

“What’s wrong, Jenny?” Mike asked, genuine concern evident on his face.

“Aquariums remind me of Gabriel,” she struggled between tears.

Shit. Ex-boyfriends are never a good first-date conversation topic, Mike silently berated himself for asking and braced for the imminent emotional roller coaster ride.

“He was found dead last year,” Jenny sobbingly continued, unaware of the horror spreading across Mike’s face. He was thinking, a dead ex-boyfriend!? Shit, this girl is full of baggage that I don’t need. Why do I always pick the bad ones? Then she added, “Next to a cracked aquarium,” before her turbulent sobbing made the rest of her words inaudible.

Mike did not know how else to react, so he put his arm around her, and listened to her incoherent tearful speech. But at the back of his mind, he thought he heard, “Gabriel was such a good angelfish!”

Word count: 222

wpImg

A Very Watery Date

15 thoughts on “A Very Watery Date

  1. Aawww, how sweet. She was crying over her pet fish. Lovely story Fred! Reminds me of when I was in first or second grade and I had caught a grasshopper and put him in a jar and made him my pet. I took him to school for show and tell and at recess, a mean boy took him out of the jar and stomped on him. I cried and cried. So, I can believe this story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well hi there! You saw me at authenticitee’s party, didn’t you? Thank you very much for the follow! I appreciate it and I hope you would continue to enjoy the stories I will be writing. Nice to meet you too 🙂

      Cheers,
      Frederick

      Like

  2. Hi Fred! I have nominated you for the challenge, “Allergic to E.” It is suppose to be done within 24 hours but because you are so busy, don’t mind the time limit. I hope you will accept the challenge but will understand if you don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really like how you have composed this. I can see the scene so clearly. We had a budgerigar that died and when my mother rang to tell me I thought it was actually my grandmother who had passed on she was so distraught! Thanks for the laugh! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave A Reply

