Some People Come Into Our Lives

Quote by Flavia Weedn
Quote by Flavia Weedn

They walk by us gently, poised and composed.
They come with an amiable wave hi, then they go, as people do.
But they did not know the magnitude of impact they had on us.

They may have come and gone as gently as a ballerina, but they swept through our lives like a tornado. They have flipped our world around and utterly changed the meaning of certain words to us.

I have two people in mind who have such an impact on my life. Ironically and confusingly, it isn’t ‘life-changing’ in that sense of the word, but to some extent, one aspect of them are living on within me.

For example, a particularly charismatic friend of mine in secondary school has  inspired me to mimic his uncanny ability to easily change topics at will. I should thank him for moulding me into the person I am today. Humbly bragging, I can hold a conversation with any person who speaks decent English until their ears become sore. I really wish I could thank my friend, but sadly he and I have drifted apart almost immediately after graduation. We are the kind of friends who are only friends because we’re in the same class. Once that string is severed, we find no reason to reconnect without fate interfering somehow.

Secondly, another friend of mine, one whom I communicate with even less frequently than friend number one, has influenced the way I text. He has a way of cutting sentences into portions when texting. It sorta goes like this:
Did you know
that
the way I text
is actually influenced
by you?

I don’t really know why but I have stuck with this style of sliced texting. I know others like to communicate in chunks, and the common teen send complete sentences, at the very least. On the other side of the spectrum, there’s me. A slice texter. On a side note, do you think this way of texting creates suspense? Or is it plain irritating. Would you be thinking Oooh what’s he gonna say? or OH MY GOD *pulls hair* JUST GET ON WITH WHATEVER IT IS THAT YOU WANT TO SAY?

Well, these are my two life-changing, yet not so ‘life-changing’ influences, if you know what I mean. Have you ever had a life-changing friend, or ‘friend’?

Some People Come Into Our Lives

Leave A Reply

