How to Be/Not Be A Good Parent

You don’t bring up issues from years ago. The past is the past. If it’s not a frequent habit, then do not attribute someone to a phase or a tendency that is past and long gone.

You don’t release an outburst of feelings on your family just because you are having a bad day. Your family is the one who is supposed to be make it feel all better when you return home to them from a bad day of work.

You don’t compare your kids to yourself. Your kids are not you. They were brought up by different parents, in a different generation, where everything is different. You can’t blame them for not taking things as seriously as you would and god forbid the use of this quote: “When I was your age…”


Okay, I shall stop here before anything gets worse, here’s a poem to wrap it up, enjoy:


    When I Was Your Age
    by Shel Silverstein
    My uncle said, “How do you get to school?”
    I said, “By bus,” and my uncle smiled.
    “When I was your age,” my uncle said,
    “I walked it barefoot–seven miles.”

    My uncle said, “How much weight can you tote?”
    I said, “One bag of grain.” my uncle laughed.
    “When I was your age,” my uncle said,
    “I could drive a wagon–and lift a calf.”

    My uncle said, “How many fights have you had?”
    I said, “Two–and both times I got whipped.”
    “When I was your age,” my uncle said,
    “I fought every day–and was never licked.”

    My uncle said, “How old are you?”
    I said, “Nine and a half,” and then
    My uncle puffed out his chest and said,
    “When I was your age… I was ten.”


 

How to Be/Not Be A Good Parent

One thought on “How to Be/Not Be A Good Parent

Leave A Reply